Sydney vet science Eureka Prize finalists

5 October 2015

Six teams from the Division of Natural Sciences at the University of Sydney have been named as finalists in the prestigious Eureka Prizes, known as the Oscars of Australian science.

University of Sydney Veterinary School
(l-r) Associate Professor Kendra Kerrisk, Professor Sergio Garcia, Dr Cameron Clark and Victoria Scott (Photo credit: University of Sydney)

Presented annually by the Australian Museum, the Eureka Prizes reward excellence in the fields of scientific research and innovation, science leadership, school science and science journalism and communication. The awards dinner, where winners were be announced in August, is the largest national celebration of Australian science.
Professor Sergio Garcia, Associate Professor Kendra Kerrisk, Dr Cameron Clark and Victoria Scott, all from the Sydney Faculty of Veterinary Science, with Dr Nicolas Lyons, from the NSW Department of Primary Industries, and Rene Kolbach, from DeLaval International, Sweden, were finalists in the Eureka Prize for Rural Innovation.
FutureDairy’s robotic rotary—an international first co-developed by DeLaval and the University of Sydney—is the latest in automated milking systems. FutureDairy’s research on voluntary cow traffic allows cows in large-herd dairy farms in Australia to bring themselves from the pasture to the dairy and be milked by robots without human assistance.

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Sydney

Program title: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
Location: Sydney, New South Wales
Semester intake: March
Program duration: 4 years
Application deadline: January 4, 2016; however it is recommended that students apply as soon as possible as this program can fill quickly.

Apply to the Sydney Veterinary School!


Would you like more information about Sydney Veterinary School? Contact OzTREKK’s Australian Veterinary Schools Officer Rachel Brady at or call toll free in Canada at 1-866-698-7355.