University of Sydney shows strong leadership in new national academy

27 March 2015

Researchers from the University of Sydney feature prominently in the newly formed Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences, which was launched this week by Australian Federal Health Minister, the Hon Sussan Ley MP.
The Academy brings together the nation’s leading health and medical science experts, and will play an important role in the health and medical sciences policy landscape in Australia.

University of Sydney Medical School
Learn more about Sydney Medical School

Health Minister Sussan Ley said, “The establishment of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Science would continue to build on AustraIia’s world-leading medical research sector.”
Sydney Public Health School’s Professor Louise Baur and Sydney Medical School Professor Anushka Patel have been honoured as Council members, and 19 leading researchers from the university and its affiliated institutes join them as new Fellows.
The Academy will provide independent advice to government, industry and the community on issues relating to evidence-based medical practice and medical research in Australia.
It will also mentor the next generation of health and medical science researchers and provide a forum for discussion on progress on medical research, with an emphasis on translation of research into practice.
Responding to the news, Professor Jill Trewhella, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) said “I applaud our researchers at the University of Sydney and affiliated institutes for being recognised in such a prestigious manner. Their nomination to the Academy reflects their capacity for senior leadership and strong advocacy for health and medical science.
“Health and medical research is an area that Australia leads in globally, so having strong voices from our leading academics and an authoritative platform to speak from is fabulous.”
Among those recognised for their significant contributions to improving human health through excellence in medical research, the Fellows representing University of Sydney and our affiliated organisations were Professor Bruce Robinson, Dean of Sydney Medical School and Professor Kathryn Refshauge, Dean of Sydney Health Sciences.

Sydney Medical School Doctor of Medicine (MD) Program

Program: Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Location: Sydney, New South Wales (Camperdown/Darlington campus)
Semester intake: February
Duration: 4 years
Application deadline: Main round: Monday, July 6, 2015; October round: Monday, September 7, 2015

Apply now to Sydney Medical School!


Contact OzTREKK’s Australian Medical Schools Admissions Officer Sarah Bridson at any time for more information about how to apply to the Sydney MD program at Sydney Medical School. Email or call toll free in Canada at 1-866-698-7355.