About the Faculty of Education at Monash University

27 May 2014

The Monash Faculty of Education has an outstanding reputation, both within Australia and internationally for its contribution to cutting-edge research and discussion on educational issues. They are committed to the very highest standards of research and research training and this is reflected in the high numbers of postgraduate and research students that choose to study education at Monash University.

The Monash Faculty of Education is known for

  • their diverse and innovative curriculum that responds to international, national and local community needs;
  • producing graduates who lead professional practice, public debate and policy, and community action around the world;
  • their innovative and flexible approach to collaboration with various communities and industry partners in the public and private sectors; and
  • their diverse range of relationships in support of their approach to professional education and well-regarded conceptual and practical research.

The Monash Faculty of Education is the result of an integration of three institutions that had separate existences until July 1991 when Monash University and the Chisholm Institute of Technology merged to form two schools: the School of Early Childhood and Primary Education at Frankston (previously the Chisholm Institute School of Education) and the School of Graduate Studies in Education at Clayton (the Faculty of Education, Monash University). In 1991 the Gippsland Institute of Advanced Education was affiliated with Monash and, in January 1993, the two institutions fully amalgamated. The Peninsula and Clayton campuses were joined by the School of Education at Gippsland.
Initially the faculty was organised into three schools, one on each campus, operating as separate academic and budgetary units. Following the 1994 review and the emphasis placed by the review panel on the importance of developing a whole-faculty sense of identity and approach to teaching and research development, in 1997 the faculty restructured into a single department with academic and professional staff working through a cross campus team-based structure.
The Monash Faculty of Education currently operates a unified single department structure across three Australian campuses: Berwick, Clayton and Peninsula. It is considered one faculty, not three campuses, and they are committed to capitalising on the collective education and research strength that comes from working collegially across campuses. This multi-campus structure provides opportunities to engage with local industries and communities, taking advantage of the geographic location. Strong links have been established with other faculties on each campus and with the local community to better engage with their regions. The faculty’s strong links with both the John Monash Science School at Clayton and the Nossal High School at Berwick are important elements of their ongoing engagement with the profession.
Did you know that Monash University is ranked 6th in the world in the subject of Education QS World University Rankings by Subject 2013 and 2014?

Monash University Teachers College

Program: Master of Teaching (Primary or Secondary)
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Semester intake: March 2015
Duration: 2 years
Application deadline: Although there is no strict application deadline for either of these programs, it is recommended that students apply at least three months prior to the program start date. Doing so will provide students with a sufficient amount of time to complete the assessment and pre-departure process.

Apply now to Monash University Teachers College!


Find out more about teacher education at Monash University Teachers College. Contact OzTREKK’s Australian Teachers Colleges Admissions Officer Rachel Brady at rachel@oztrekk.com, or phone Rachel toll free at 1 866-698-735. Find out more about Australian universities and about how you can study in Australia!