Monash Associate Professor wins Woman in Medicine Award

7 June 2016

Emergency medicine physician and leading public health campaigner, Monash University Associate Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton has won the 2016 AMA Woman in Medicine Award, the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM) has announced.
The Australian Medical Association presents the Award each year to a female medical practitioner who has made a significant contribution to the medical profession.

Monash Associate Professor wins Woman in Medicine Award
Associate Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton (Photo: Monash University)

“This is a great honour and one that leaves me feeling surprised and delighted,” said Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton. “I am very aware of the extraordinary women who have received this award before me and I’m deeply honoured to be counted among them.
“As well as my many professional colleagues that I have worked with, I want to thank all the staff at ACEM who do such outstanding work supporting emergency medicine and emergency physicians throughout Australia and New Zealand.”
Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton became an emergency physician in 1997.
She has taken leading roles in clinical and academic practice, teaching and patient advocacy over the course of her career and since 2011 has been Director of Emergency Medicine Research and Innovation at Monash Health.
As Chair of the ACEM Public Health Committee Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton has been involved in numerous projects aimed at driving positive change in the Australian healthcare system, including research into the effect of alcohol on emergency departments.
In 2014 she was lead researcher on a study that gained widespread public attention, revealing that one out of eight patients in Australian emergency departments attended as a result of the harmful use of alcohol.
“Diana is always motivated by her passion for delivering better healthcare to her patients,” said Professor Anthony Lawler, ACEM President. “This is evident through all her work, including her contributions to medical research and excellence in clinical and academic practice, her leadership roles in public health projects and her tireless work as a patient advocate.
“She’s an inspirational emergency physician and this award is well deserved.”
The award is the latest in a series of recent honours for Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton.
Her contribution to the field of medical education and medical training was recognised in 2013 when she was awarded the ACEM Teaching Excellence Medal. In 2015 she was a co-recipient of the ACEM Edward Brentnall Award which is made annually to an ACEM Fellow or trainee for a published paper relating to public health or disaster.
In 2015 she was also co-recipient of the Silver Medal at the Victorian Public Healthcare Awards for her study of used IV cannula.
In giving the Award, the AMA noted that Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton had made excellent contributions to emergency medicine and public health as well as being involved with education and medical publishing.

New Bachelor of Medical Science / Doctor of Medicine at Monash University

The Bachelor of Medical Science and Doctor of Medicine at Monash University has been designed in close consultation with doctors, health care professionals and leaders in the health and research sectors to give students the scientific background and clinical expertise to ensure that graduates are prepared for their future as a doctor.
Program: Bachelor of Medical Science Doctor of Medicine
Location: Gippsland Campus, Churchill, Victoria (approx. 2 hours southeast of Melbourne)
Semester intake: February 2017
Duration: 4 years
Application deadline: Round 1 – February 5, 2016; Round 2 – September 27, 2016

Apply to Monash Medical School!


Learn more about the new medical degree at Monash University Medical School! Contact OzTREKK’s Australian Medical Schools Admissions Officer Courtney Frank at