Top Australian authors shortlisted

12 August 2015

The finalists for one of Australia’s oldest and most prestigious literary awards have been announced by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies.
Now in its 48th year, the Foundation presents an annual award to the value of $10,000, as well as the H T Priestley Memorial Medal.
The award and medal are presented to the best book, in the judges’ opinion, that is published in Australia in the previous calendar year, which deals with any aspect of Australian life.
The short list of seven books for the 2014 publishing year:
Atkinson, Alan –The Europeans in Australia
Clanchy, John – Six
Garner, Helen – This House of Grief
Harrower, Elizabeth – In Certain Circles
London, Joan – The Golden Age
Watson, Don – The Bush
Wilding, Michael – Wild Bleak Bohemia
The Foundation for Australian Literary Studies is based at James Cook University and aims to foster the study and appreciation of Australian literature.
The foundation is funded through the generosity of the late Colin Roderick CBE.
The winner of this year’s award and medal will be announced at the annual dinner to be held in Townsville in late October.

Find out more about studying at James Cook University. Contact OzTREKK at or call toll free at 1-866-698-7355.