Monash University announces new sub-faculty

17 January 2014

With more than 7,600 undergraduate students, over 800 PhD students and 1,800 full-time equivalent staff, the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences (FMNHS) at Monash University is the size of many universities. This presents challenges, including distinct academic and operational structures and limited coordinated approaches. There are also opportunities to improve collaboration in research, education and training.

Monash Medical School
Study at Monash University

To that end, the Sub-Faculty of Biomedical and Psychological Sciences was launched on Jan. 1, 2014. The sub-faculty will integrate the School of Biomedical Sciences (SoBS), the Australian Regenerative Medicine Institute (ARMI), and the School of Psychological Sciences (SoPS). This will form a unique multidisciplinary partnership that will consolidate, strengthen and showcase biomedical research at Monash University. The sub-faculty will comprise approximately 150 research groups, 700 staff and nearly 400 PhD students.
The sub-faculty will be led by the current Head of the School of Biomedical Sciences, Professor John Carroll, who will become Foundation Dean, Sub-Faculty of Biomedical and Psychological Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences. Professor Carroll also commenced appointment as dean of the sub-faculty from Jan. 1, 2014.
Professor Carroll will report to the Dean of FMNHS, Professor Christina Mitchell, whose title will be expanded to Academic Vice-President and Dean, a change that will accurately reflect her role in leading the restructured faculty.
Find out more about popular schools at Monash University:

Are you interested in studying at Monash University? Contact OzTREKK for more information about Australian universities and about how you can study in Australia.