Melbourne Medical School clinical school preference

11 February 2014

The Melbourne Medical School Doctor of Medicine (MD) has been designed to train doctors who have the skills, attributes, passion and competency to make a positive and immediate contribution to health locally and internationally. Integral to students’ study is the teaching and clinical training they will experience at the University of Melbourne’s clinical schools located in affiliated teaching hospitals.

Melbourne MD
Study medicine at Melbourne

Melbourne Medical School Clinical School Zone Preferences

Applicants invited to a multi-mini interview (MMI) for a place in the Doctor of Medicine (MD) program will be asked to identify their preference for a particular Clinical School region and whether they are interested in being selected to a particular rural cohort.
Students are allocated to one of these clinical schools for the final three years of the course. Acceptance of a place in the medical course indicates acceptance of subsequent clinical school placement.

  • Austin Clinical School
  • RMH Clinical School
  • St Vincent’s Clinical School


  • Northern Clinical School
  • Western Clinical School


  • Ballarat Clinical School
  • Bendigo Clinical School
  • Shepparton Clinical School
  • Wangaratta Clinical School
  • Extended Rural Cohort

About the Melbourne Doctor of Medicine Program

Program: Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Semester intake: February 2015
Duration: 4 years
Application deadline: TBC by the faculty. Last year, the application deadline for the Melbourne MD was June 21.

Apply to Melbourne Medical School!


Contact OzTREKK’s Australian Medical Schools Admissions Officer Broghan Dean for more information about studying medicine at the University of Melbourne Medical School. Email Broghan at or call toll free in Canada at 1 866-698-7355.