OzTREKK - Study in Australia OzTREKK - Study in Australia OzTREKK - Study in Australia
Undergraduate Programs
College Articulation
Occupational Therapy
Veterinary Science
Study Abroad

Australian Law Schools

  • Overview - Australian Law Schools in Australia
  • Bond University Law School in Australia
  • Griffith University Law School in Australia
  • James Cook University Law School in Australia
  • Monash University Law School in Australia
  • University of Newcastle Law School in Australia
  • University of Queensland Law School in Australia
  • University of Sydney Law School in Australia

Throughout Australia, more than 30 universities offer professional law degrees, which are open to international students. These include undergraduate and graduate-entry Bachelor of Laws (LLB) programs as well as postgraduate Juris Doctor (JD) degrees.

As a Canadian seeking to become qualified to practice law, you have a range of study options abroad. As Commonwealth nations, the Australian and Canadian systems are based on English common law, and Australian law schools provide a solid foundation for students planning to practice law in Canada (with the exception of Quebec). OzTREKK's aim is to assist you in choosing the best Australian law school for you.

The Bachelor of Laws (LLB) is an undergraduate law degree. It is designed to equip students for a career in the legal profession. Australian students, like those from virtually all other Commonwealth countries except Canada, can enter the LLB program directly from high school. This is modelled on the system in the U.K. Some Australian universities also offer graduate-entry LLB degrees for those who have already completed a bachelor degree.

Typically, Australian students complete either a general Bachelor of Laws program in four years or a combined/dual degree in five years. In these four- and five-year programs, students complete classes in other areas, in addition to their law subjects. In Australia and the U.K., most Bachelor of Laws students graduate at approximately 23 years of age.

The following OzTREKK universities offer Bachelor of Laws (LLB) programs:

Bond University
Deakin University
Flinders University
Griffith University
James Cook University
Monash University
The University of Newcastle
The University of Queensland
The University of Sydney

If you have already completed a bachelor degree and wish to undertake a professional law qualification at the postgraduate level, please visit OzTREKK's Juris Doctor (JD) and Graduate-entry Bachelor of Laws (LLB) Programs web page.

Qualifications from Australian law schools in Australia are recognized internationally. Canadian students who wish to practice as lawyers upon their return to Canada should contact OzTREKK for the latest updates and information regarding the licensing and accreditation process.

OzTREKK Admissions Officer: Molly Mahon

Only OzTREKK gives you invaluable guidance and inside information about Australian universities—for free.