OzTREKK - Study in Australia OzTREKK - Study in Australia OzTREKK - Study in Australia
Undergraduate Programs
College Articulation
Environmental Science
Health Sciences
Occupational Therapy
Public Health
Speech Pathology
Teacher Education
Veterinary Science
Study Abroad
List of Programs

Graduate Science Programs in Australia

  • Overview - Graduate Science Programs in Australia
  • Bond University Graduate Science Programs
  • Griffith University Graduate Science Programs
  • James Cook University Graduate Science Programs
  • Macquarie University Graduate Science Programs
  • Monash University Graduate Science Programs
  • University of Melbourne Graduate Science Programs
  • University of Newcastle Graduate Science Programs
  • University of Queensland Graduate Science Programs
  • University of Sydney Graduate Science Programs

University of Melbourne Graduate Science Programs

As one of the oldest science faculties in Australia, the Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne provides a range of postgraduate training programs and community services, based on a solid foundation of research in the pure and applied sciences. It comprises four schools and four departments:

  • School of Botany
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Earth Sciences
  • Department of Genetics
  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Department of Optometry and Vision Sciences
  • School of Physics
  • Department of Zoology

Through the quality of its research and teaching, the Faculty of Science enjoys a strong reputation, both nationally and internationally.

School of Botany
The School offers an exciting and stimulating environment for the study of plants and plant processes, particular in the context of the Australian flora and environment. The School of Botany is renowned internationally as a leading department for research and training. The School offers an exciting and stimulating research environment to study plants and plant processes. Programs cover the broad spectrum of basic, strategic and applied research. Active collaborations are with Universities and Research Institutes within Australia and overseas, the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne, State and Federal government agencies, and industry.

As a leading research department, their focus is on three major areas of importance to Australia:

1. Sustainability of the environment
2. Bioresources - Plant Biodiversity
3. Plant Cell Biology and Biotechnology

School of Chemistry
Chemistry is the science describing matter and its transformations. It is the science that defines molecules, nanostructures, and extended solids, and their properties, reactions and applications. This empowering science is central to virtually all areas of modern science and technology, especially the new, exciting inter- and multi-disciplinary areas of molecular genetics, molecular biology, nanotechnology, medicinal chemistry, drug design and development, and green (environmentally sustainable) chemistry/industry.

School of Earth Sciences
The School of Earth Sciences is dedicated to high quality research and teaching in the disciplines of Geological, Atmospheric & Ocean Sciences. The School of Earth Sciences was formally established in 1990, following the amalgamation of the Department of Geology (1900) and the Department of Metrology (1937). Since its inception, the School has gained a national and international reputation for innovative research and teaching in the inter-disciplinary fields of Geological Sciences and the Atmospheric & Ocean Sciences.

Department of Genetics
Genetics is the study of the causes and consequences of inherited differences among individuals. It encompasses the molecular, cellular, organismal and populational levels over time spans ranging from a 20-minute bacterial division to 4 billion years of evolution. The Department currently has an academic and senior research staff of about 20 and over 50 postgraduate, MSc and Honours students and is supported by a dedicated group of administrative and technical staff. Genetics at the University of Melbourne has featured prominently in the history of Genetics in Australia and continues to make a major contribution to Genetics research and teaching. The Department teaches at all levels in the B.Sc and B. Biomed. Sci degrees and also has an extensive schools program. The department has a vibrant research program ranging across fungal, plant, insect & mammalian systems in the areas of molecular, developmental, population and ecological genetics and genomics.

Department of Mathematics and Statistics
The program in Mathematics and Statistics provides an innovative curriculum with four specialisations: Pure Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Mathematical Physics, Discrete Mathematics and Operations Research, and Statistics and Stochastic Processes.

School of Physics
The School of Physics at the University of Melbourne, Australia, has a distinguished history: it is well-established and enjoys an internationally respected reputation for its research excellence, broad-based undergraduate courses, and challenging and rewarding postgraduate experience. The School of Physics is one of the largest and best funded Physics Departments in Australia. The school has world-class research programs in Astrophysics, Optics, Condensed Matter Physics and Particle Physics and hosts the ARC Centre of Excellence in Coherent X-Ray Science, the ARC Centre of Excellence in Particle Physics at the Terascale and the Melbourne nodes of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology and the ARC Centre of Excellence for All-Sky Astrophysics. The School also plays a major role in the Australian Synchrotron research program. The Micro-Analytical Research Centre also operates within the School.

Department of Zoology
The Department of Zoology is tackling some of the major problems facing the world and society today. Whether it is climate change, food security, environmental toxicology or species extinction; scientists in Zoology are tackling such major issues head-on. Within the Department you will find an International renowned group of Academics, some 50 plus Research Fellows and over 100 postgraduate students, making Zoology an incredibly vibrant workplace. Staff and students are active in many areas and the Department has a vigorous and diverse research program with interests ranging from the structure and function of single cells through to the ecology, reproduction, development and evolution of animals.

The Melbourne Faculty of Science offers the following postgraduate science programs:
Master of Biotechnology
Master of Environment
Master of Information Systems
Master of Science (majors in bioinformatics, botany, chemistry, computer science, earth sciences, epidemiology, genetics, geography, mathematics and statistics, physics, vision sciences, and zoology)
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Postgraduate Certificate in Information Systems
Postgraduate Certificate in Science (Earth Sciences)
Postgraduate Diploma in Information Systems



Every student who applies (and accepts) via OzTREKK and commences his/her studies at an OzTREKK Australian university will receive a $500 scholarship from OzTREKK.
Click here for more information about the OzTREKK Scholarship!


OzTREKK Admissions Officer: Rachel Brady

Proudly Canadian
Only OzTREKK gives you invaluable guidance and inside information on Australian universities—for free.