OzTREKK - Study in Australia OzTREKK - Study in Australia OzTREKK - Study in Australia
Undergraduate Programs
College Articulation
Occupational Therapy
Veterinary Science
Study Abroad

Physiotherapy Schools in Australia

  • Australian Physiotherapy Schools in Australia
  • CSU Physiotherapy School
  • James Cook University Physiotherapy School
  • Monash University Physical Therapy School in Australia
  • University of Newcastle Physiotherapy School
  • University of Queensland Physiotherapy School
  • University of Sydney Physiotherapy School

University of Newcastle Physiotherapy School

Program Overview - Bachelor of Physiotherapy (Honours)

Click here to apply to the Newcastle Physiotherapy School - Bachelor of Physiotherapy
University: University of Newcastle
Program: Bachelor of Physiotherapy (Honours)
University Location: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
City Population: 445,000
Student Population: 37,181
Campus Location: Callaghan, Newcastle, New South Wales
Program Duration: 4 years
Semester Intake: February each year
Next Avail. Intake: February 2020
Annual Tuition Fee: $34,870 AUD (2019)
Entry Requirements: Completion of a high school diploma, including university-pathway Grade 12 subjects. Assumed recommended knowledge: advanced English, chemistry and either biology or physics.

The University of Newcastle's Bachelor of Physiotherapy is a four-year, full-time degree, which involves the learning of professional physiotherapy knowledge and skills underpinned by the relevant biomedical and behavioural sciences. A case-based learning approach and innovative educational strategies are used to facilitate integration of the clinical and basic sciences.

The Bachelor of Physiotherapy program combines academic work with more than 1,000 hours of professional placements, which is undertaken throughout the four years of the program at centres primarily within the State of New South Wales. Opportunities may also exist for interstate and overseas clinical placements. Clinical education takes place in a variety of health settings including private practices, hospital wards, rehabilitation units, community health centres and hospital outpatient clinics.

Students are required to complete rural and urban professional placements. They may be required to spend a period of time in the university's Department of Rural Health based in Tamworth in rural New South Wales, in the Central Coast Clinical Unit based in Gosford, or in other locations outside the Hunter Region. While attending one of these placements, students are responsible for all travel, accommodation and related expenses.

OzTREKK Admissions Officer: Lindsay Rewi

Only OzTREKK gives you invaluable guidance and inside information about Australian universities—for free.